Apple’s and frozen pie

A few weeks ago on Facebook there was a statement thrown out saying ‘man I wish I could freeze apples’ WELL for about 4 years now I have been doing just that. I tryied to explain how I do it and then thought it might be easier to write about it!:) SOO here I go!

After you purchased (or pick them) and you have them ready to go.. wash and then start peeling them (I got this peeler from my mom when I got married -but its from Pamper Chef)

IMG_20131120_093356_514

I then use a big bowl and throw them in there…

All the peel’s and cores i throw away (or my kids eat them and call them snakes!:)

Then I gather my supplies.. for either pies or apple sauce.. I am making two pies today… one to freeze for Thanksgiving (one week from today) and one for tomorrow.

IMG_20131120_094030_205

Since I am making two I will double my recipe .. I have done up to 5 pies at one time… this way.. SOO much easier to get a bulk done instead of doing it every time you want a pie…

After I measure I pour in and then shake up the seasonings…

IMG_20131120_094412_502Sorry for the quality of pictures…my phone is what I had handy..

Then the shaking…..

IMG_20131120_094502_834

After I finish (or one of the cutest kids ever!!) I lay my pie pan out and line it with foil.. enough to cover the ENTIRE pie with one piece.. this will gave you when you take it out of the freezer later

IMG_20131120_095400_428

Then I place the ENTIRE pan and pie mix into the freezer for about 24 hours.. this will make the pie the shape of the pan and when it is frozen i can place it in a ziploc bag and then when i am ready to cook it i just take the foil off and line the pie with crust (bottom and top)  and the pie mixture fits perfect.

This makes it SOO easy!!

Here is our recipe.. Kent Family recipe passed down!! ENJOY!

Apple Pie

this recipe below makes ONE pie in a regular pie pan..

3lbs Apple’s (any kind)

1/4 cup flour

1 tsp cinnamon 

1/2 tsp nutmeg

3/4 brown & white sugar mixture

“mix all above except apples.

Spray pie pan add crust

Mix the ‘mix’ into the apples, pour into pan.

Cut up 1/2 stick of butter (into chunks) lay around pie

Add top crust.. make 4 slits

rub egg white on hands then rub onto pie top

SPRINKLE with sugar

BAKE at 250 for 2.5 3 hours 

(YES this seems low heat and a long time but thats the key!!)

Even if you bring it straight from the freezer the time and heat are the same!!

ENJOY!

IMG_20131120_094050_129

Then share with some cute kids OR family!!

~jessica

Leave a Reply

