Packing for 3 {under 6}

At the end of May I took the brave {or insane.. stupid would work too:)} journey (yes in a van) to Florida for 12 days by myself….It was worth every minute but MAN!! It was a TRIP for sure!:) Being Pregnant with our 4th and traveling with 3 little ones -by myself- was a feat to say the least!

BUT before we even ventured out of the state (for the 8.5 hour drive) I had to pack {EVERYONE!} …

I have a system I started back when our oldest was born and just grow and adjusted it as each new child arrived!

First make sure all the clothes are washed! **IMPORTANT for sanity!

Then I lay out all the clothes for one child (we were gone 12 days but I knew I would have use of a washer and dryer so I planned 5 days per child with 2 pj’s each,  1 set of nice church clothes & Bathing suit pile) Then laid out the next child’s… it looked like this

Image

Top was “Baby”, middle “Taco”, third was “Brother”

This made it easy for me to see what I needed or was missing… (complete outfits were laid down -shorts, shirt, leggings, ect)

Then I grabbed my running supply of 1 gallon Ziploc bags and began to fill them… I would put one WHOLE day in one Bag.. (one bag would contain an outfit for all 3 kids-) It looked like this..

ImageI do this because when you pile a bunch of clothes in a suitcase things get messy and you have no idea what goes with what or who’s is who… This way each morning I was able to (within seconds) pull out a matching outfit for each child and it had all its parts!:)

I ended up with 5 bags of daily clothes, 1 bag of nicer clothes, 1 bag of swimming things, 2 bags of pj’s.. and 1 bag for each child with their own socks and underwear… ‘baby’ had bows & socks in her bag.

ImageThis trip after i washed each load of laundry I immediately folded it up and placed the 3 outfits back into the bag -so it was ready for the next use… This kept the room nice and clean from lose socks, clothes or missing things.. everything was always in this suitcase (looking very much like the picture above) the entire stay. It also made it easy to pack up when we were ready to go..I had this and my suit case and we were ready to go within 20 mins…

I also packed 2 packs of diapers, 1 pack of pull ups & 2 packs of wipes. Each child got two pairs of shoes.. sandals & tennis shoes, and a hat each.

I LOVE this way of packing. Hope you were able to get some tips and hints! If you have any questions PLEASE ask!!:)

5 thoughts on “Packing for 3 {under 6}

  1. First, can I say this is pure genius! I only have one kid, but I could totally see using this system. Your so awesome jess! Secondly, How in the world did you survive the car ride with three kids by yourself?!?!?! You need to post a blog on that!!! Like I always tell you, you are SUPERWOMAN!!!!

    • You are Crazy! I am no super woman!!:) but this trick is a life/time saver!:) let me know if you use it and i am working on getting the road trip one up..:) in time maybe before #4?!?!

  2. I did this for several years…but now with 4 and the boys are bigger, I can not get them in regular gallon size bags. I did find jumbo bags that would fit the three boys and than I did my daughter’s seperate (she has more.accessorize anyways :-)!

    • REALLY!?!? ive never heard of others doing it also!!! it makes traveling SOO much easier! dontcha think!?!? I am thinking before to long i will also need to split mine up!:) we will see!

Leave a Reply

